Filing for an absolute divorce in Mecklenburg County requires the following:
1. At least one party must have lived in North Carolina for at least six months prior to filing for divorce.
2. The parties must have lived separate and apart for at least one year and one day prior to filing for the divorce.
3. The plaintiff (the person who is filing the lawsuit) must be able to prove that he or she served the defendant (the person who is getting sued). This is usually done by mail or sheriff.
Once I file for divorce, how long does it take?
Although it may be possible to process a divorce in a matter of days (if both parties agree to expedite and appear in person before a judge), once the plaintiff files for divorce, it takes anywhere from three to four months on average for the divorce to be finalized.
Do I have to go to court?
No, in an uncontested divorce in Mecklenburg County, neither party is required to go to court. You may select to appear in court to expedite the divorce process, or you may have your attorney handle the entire matter for you.
How much will this cost me?
Court costs for filing a divorce in Mecklenburg County are $225.00. There is also a $20.00 fee for the hearing to occur, $10.00 fee if you wish to resume your maiden name, and approximately $10.00 to $30.00 fee to serve the other party (if they do not wish to accept service).
If you need representation in filing a divorce in Mecklenburg County, contact Adkins Law. In most cases, we can get all required information over the phone, have you verify and sign the filing documents, and process the divorce without the necessity of you having to meet in person or go to court.
North Carolina is a "no-fault" divorce state. In almost all cases, all that is required to file for divorce in North Carolina is that you have lived in the state for at least six months, and that you have lived separate and apart from your spouse for a year and a day. Once a divorce is filed, it typically takes from four to eight weeks to process. If you need to speak with a divorce attorney, contact Adkins Law. Adkins Law has locations in Huntersville and Ballantyne.
When a married couple separates and plans to get divorced, they must go through the process of equitable distribution. If the couple or one spouse owns a business, the business is subject to be divided equitably. If you are contemplating separation or divorce, and you own a business, contact Adkins Law if you would like to discuss your matter in detail. Adkins Law has locations in Lake Norman and south Charlotte.
You are legally separated from your spouse if you move out of the marital residence with the intent of remaining separate and apart. Once you remain separate and apart from your spouse for a year and a day, you are eligible to file for an absolute divorce. Once the absolute divorce is granted, all bonds of marriage are terminated between you and your spouse. If you need to speak to a family law attorney in regards to a separation and / or divorce, contact Adkins Law. Adkins Law has locations in Huntersville and south Charlotte.
What is the difference in being legally separated and getting a divorce? When one spouse moves out of the marital home with the intent of remaining separate and apart, the couple is legally separated. In North Carolina, however, you must remain continuously separate and apart for a year and a day in order to file for a divorce. Once your divorce is granted, the bonds of matrimony are broken, and your marital status reverts to single. If you need to speak with a family law attorney in regards to seeking information on separation and divorce, contact Adkins Law. Adkins Law has locations in Huntersville and Ballantyne.